Christian faith, Goals and Plans, Thoughts on God

The Bewildering Call of God by Oswald Chambers

“…and everything that is written about the Son of Man by the prophets will be accomplished…and they did not grasp what was said.”

Luke 18:31b, 34b ESV

“God called Jesus Christ to what seemed absolute disaster. And Jesus Christ called His disciples to see Him put to death, leading every one of them to the place where their hearts were broken. His life was an absolute failure from every standpoint except God’s. But what seemed to be failure from man’s standpoint was a triumph from God’s standpoint, because God’s purpose is never the same as man’s purpose.”

“What God calls us to cannot be definitely stated, because His call is simply to be His friend to accomplish His own purposes.”

“A Christian is someone who trusts in the knowledge and the wisdom of God, not in his own abilities.” — Oswald Chambers

We talk about our purpose, our destiny, our call from God. It is good to know what God is calling us to do, to be, for His Kingdom. But if we strive to know too much, we lose the peace of trusting Him to bring about His perfect will. I need to trust in the knowledge and wisdom of God and not in my own abilities, in all things. I need to be a friend of God, to worship Him and bring glory to His Name. Rather than being bewildered, I should enjoy the journey, trusting and knowing that what I need to know, I will know at the right time. Waiting is not easy, but if I use the waiting time to worship God, my eyes will be on Him and not the wait.

“He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?”

Micah 6:8 ESV

God has told me many times in His Word about His character and what He says is good. In this passage, I should be just, kind and humble. There are other passages that tell me about what He wants me to be, what Love is (1 Corinthians 13) or the Fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23). While I’m waiting, while I’m worshiping, while I’m being His friend, I can use verses like these to look at my character and ask to be changed to be more in the image of who He has asked me to be. In all this, my call, my purpose, my destiny will become apparent.

I have a living hope that my God has a plan and a purpose for me. And He will reveal that to me.

From My Utmost for His Highest, August 5

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.