Bible Verses, Joy, Thoughts on Life

A Psalm for 2020

On New Year’s Eve, I wrote a Psalm. Not on purpose. It just flowed out of me during Bible devotions!

“With joy you will drink deeply 
from the fountain of salvation!”

Isaiah 12:3 NLT

Abiding Joy by Becky Jane Davis

I can have abiding joy every moment 
if I drink deeply from the fountain of salvation. 
Salvation reminds me of the most important thing in my life – 
that Jesus is real, he died for me, he is with me, 
he has saved me, will save me and I am his. 
This brings a sense of awe, a feeling of assurance deep within me, 
of my salvation in Jesus.
God alone can make me whole, heal me, 
cause me to walk in his ways, strengthen me and empower me. 
By his Holy Spirit, I have access to the wisdom of God. 

Holy Spirit, open my ears that I can hear. Open my eyes so I can see. 
Show me and tell me more about you and your ways. 
Give me an obedient and willing heart. 
Help me to follow in your steps in every part of my life. 
My heart is yours. I can love because you love me. 
Help me to love others more than myself. 
Rid me of selfishness. Rid me of complacency. 

Ignite a passion in me that only you can satisfy. 
All this brings abiding joy. 
I have confidence you can and will do all that is needed. 
I can trust you. I do trust you. With my life, my future. 
All that I am. All that I will be. 

You alone know the future. 
You alone can equip me with all I need today and tomorrow. 
Let it be done. 
Take care of me and lead me into your path of righteousness. 
I want to stand before you some day and see you smile. 
Because you were faithful and I was obedient.

Becky’s Psalm for 2020

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.